Brief Tarot Guide

Tarot is a form of divination which uses a deck of 78 cards. These cards have 4 suits; Wands, Chalices, Pentacles and Swords, which correspond to the elements of Fire, Water, Earth and Air.

Of the 78 cards, 22 are called Major Arcana; these cards are thought to represent the higher parts of our consciousness and big events in our lives, and have been linked with the Archetypes proposed by Carl Jung, who developed the idea of Synchronicity (the belief that everything in the universe is interconnected and of meaningful coincidences). The remaining 56 cards are called Minor Arcana, which are concerned with the everyday affairs of day to day living. Lastly the Court Cards represent other people in our lives or aspects of our own personality.

Each card has its own image which is full of symbolism. This symbolism is interpreted in relation to the other cards in the spread to give an accurate overview of our general situation, problem, or mirror of ourselves.

The tarot is an objective tool in the pursuit of self-analysis, by using tarot cards in various spreads we are able to be guided, which helps to provide us with new understandings and perspectives on our own situations, to draw on our intuitive senses, to know what we really want in life and to act upon that knowledge.